FEMA Assistance for Flood Victims

Monday morning, the Governor sent a request to FEMA asking for additional counties to be approved for Individual Assistance. The Governor posted to social media announcing that the President approved Individual Assistance for Pike and Floyd counties. Now, the total counties approved include Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike.

Currently, renters in the approved counties who were affected by the severe storms, flooding and mudslides that began July 26 may apply for individual disaster assistance by applying online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362).
When applying for assistance, it's important to have some critical information in hand:
  • A current phone number where you can be contacted;
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;
  • Your Social Security number;
  • A general list of damage and losses;
  • Banking information if you choose direct deposit; and
  • If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name.
The Governor also announced the opening of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Mobile Registration Centers where eligible Kentuckians can sign up for Individual Assistance. There is one location in each of the following counties: Knott, Breathitt, Letcher, Clay and Perry.
  • Breathitt County – 421 Jett Drive, Jackson, KY 41339
  • Clay County – Clay Community Center – 311 Highway 638, Manchester, KY 40962
  • Knott County – Knott County Sportsplex – 450 Kenny Champion Loop #8765, Leburn, KY 41831
  • Letcher County – Letcher County Recreation Center – 1505 Jenkins Rd., Whitesburg, KY, 41858
  • Perry County – Hazard Community and Technical College – 1 Community College Drive, Hazard, KY 41701
Hours for all the centers are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily.

FEMA representatives will be at the centers to help with applications for federal assistance and provide information about other disaster recovery resources.



Upcoming Events